Top Favorite Books

If you asked me what my favorite book is, I couldn’t tell you. There is a book from every genre that I could hug tightly to my chest and hold forever and ever. So if anyone is curious, I’m making a list of my favorite book for each category with NO explanation as to why. I will add that I actually rated Eat, Pray, Love 3 stars on Goodreads but it was one of the first memoirs I picked up on my own, thus having the most impact. Enjoy!


YA Contemporary: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Indie: As Simple as Snow by Gregory Galloway

Classic: East of Eden by John Steinbeck

‘“There’s more beauty in truth, even if it is dreadful beauty.”

– East of Eden

Children’s Classic: Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Science Fiction: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Children’s Book: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Fantasy: A Game of Thrones (Book 1) by George R.R. Martin

“Once you’ve accepted your flaws, no one can use them against you.” – A Game of Thrones

Young Adult Fantasy: A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Foreign Fiction (for me, any book that pertains to a non-Western culture or people): The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini or The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Romance: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes  (I’m extremely hesitant to call this a romance because of the subject matter).

Favorite Memoir/Essays: Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

Overall Fiction: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

“I thought the most beautiful thing in the world must be a shadow.” – The Bell Jar


If a genre is missing, it’s probably because I read so little in that category or don’t like that category much to even bother listing it (i.e Historical Fiction, Thriller, etc)

I hope you enjoyed reading my list of favorite books! Can you pick just one favorite? If not, what are all your favorites?

Leave a Reply

