March TBR

Here is my March To-Be Read pile! I’ve been reading a lot lately, so my brain is hitting a rut. The way I fix that is by turning my brain off, then on again. Usually, I do this by watching (or bingeing) some TV shows. Unfortunately, my internet has been shite and I can’t unwind when I stream what I watch. I need to do something a bit mind-numbing before I read and I can’t do that. I might need to take a short break from reading because I’ve been overloading my brain with pages.

  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – I’ve read the first couple chapters and I’m intrigued. I read a blurb that said it was like a classic book but with fantasy elements. I don’t know why, but I just love that feel. It’s also set in London, where I visited on my own a few years ago, so I can sort of get a visual on some places that already exist in real life.
  • The Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – I’ve already read about 1/3 of this book already and I find it very interesting. However, I’m surprised by the pacing. In the Mortal Instrument series, every chapter is action-packed and the books keep you on your toes. I’m still liking The Clockwork Angel because I think the pacing works for the time period. I also appreciate that Clare slowed down a little. I feel like it shows she’s grown in her writing.
  • The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles – So far, I’ve heard mixed reviews but I’m optimistic! I think I’ll like this more than a few other debut books I’ve had the misfortune of reading. I’m staying open-minded, as I try to do for books written by first time writers. Especially if I can see actual effort and not a recycling of old plots, tropes, and world building. I feel like the book doesn’t recycle any of those things.
  • The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon – I can’t wait for this one! The Bone Season is one of my favorite books. I don’t know what it is.  I could easily say that the pacing was slow at times, but it was never boring even if it was slow. I like that this world is somewhat believable, minus the supernatural aspect.

What’s on your March TBR pile? Tell me in the comments!

Note: My March TBR changed due to getting a week long cold. Please read this post for my March Reads.

 

Leave a Reply

